Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Friday, January 18, 2013

The Lesson Book Review

Stoney Ridge Seasons
Book Three

SUMMARY:  Sometimes love shows up when you least expect it. 
     Nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp yearns for adventure, but all she seems to find is trouble.  Her dreams of travel have taken a backseat to her assignment to teach school this year.  And nothing ever seems to happen in her sleepy Amish community.
     But when a sudden and unexplained death conveniently coinsides with the arrival of a mysterious young man, M.K. is frustrated that no one takes it seriously.  She's determined to take matters into her own hands and get to the bottom of it.  Will she find more than she bargained for?
     Centered on one of the bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher's most loved characters, this is the Stone Ridge story you have been waiting for.  With a surprise at every turn, a gentle romance, and a shocking answer to an old family mystery, The Lesson is the dramatic conclusion to the Stoney Ridge Seasons series.

REVIEW:  Even though this is the third book in the series, you do not need to read the others to understand the premise of this book.  They do give you some background on MK's character and help you better understand her and some of the backstory more completely.
     This is a great book.  My heart went out to Chris and Jenny.  With all the difficulties they faced, they didn't give up hope and Chris just keeps on trying to give Jenny a better life.  MK got me frustrated at times because she would just barrel through without giving thought to those who might be affected by her actions.  When Alice Smucker is hurt by her carelessness and MK is forced to teach school in her place, Fern's advice and introduction to Ermy Yutzy help her in the schoolroom and outside with life in general.  I also like how things work out in the end for the main characters (who will remain nameless as it will give the ending away).

This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity Group and Revell for review without compensation.

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is the host of internet radio show Amish Wisdom and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your iphone or ipad! Download the Free App

1 comment:

Suzanne said...

Hi Chelle! I had to smile at your comments about M.K.--you described her to a T. She did barrel through life! One of those individuals who has to learn everything through experience (usually bad ones!). Grateful to have you on the blog tour, Chelle! If you have a minute to spare, would you post your review up on Amazon? It makes a surprisingly big difference. Thank you again! Warmly, Suzanne