Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Monday, January 14, 2013

Waiting for Spring Book Review

Westward Winds Series
Book Two

SUMMARY:  A new identity may protect her family - but can it protect her heart?
     After the loss of her husband and the birth of her baby, Charlotte has had a long, hard year.  But she can find no rest from the ghosts of the past and flees to Cheyenne to put the pieces of her life back together.
     Wealthy cattle baron and political hopeful Barrett Landry must make a sensible match if he is to be elected senator of the soon-to-be state of Wyoming.  He needs someone with connections.  Someone without a past.  Yet he can't shake the feeling that Charlotte holds the key to his heart and future.
     Will Charlotte and Barrett find the courage to look love in the face?  Or will their fears blot out any chance for happiness?
REVIEW:  This book is the second in the Westward Winds series.  Even though this one stands well on it's own, to get a full understanding of what Charlotte is running from (which is important to the storyline) and to better comprehend Charlotte herself, it is beneficial to read the first book Summer of Promise.
     Charlotte's character is one of strength that has been developed under duress.  She is a single mom raising a child who is blind when most parents at this time in history would send them away.  Charlotte is worried when someone from her husband's past starts looking for her thinking she has money her husband stole.  She owns one of the most popular dress stores in town where she designs and sews the one-of-a-kind garments herself.  Charlotte also thinks of other and helps those in need when she can, either by giving them a job and a place to live or remaking old dresses into new ones suitable for those who cannot afford one at all.
     This is a great story worth checking out.  I can't wait until the third and last book is released.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Amanda Cabot is an accomplished author under various pen names and a popular speaker.  The author of Paper Roses, Scattered Petals, Tomorrow's Garden, and Summer of Promise, she is also a charter member of Romance Writers of America, the cofounder of its New Jersey chapter, a member of the ACFW, and an avid reader.  She lives in Wyoming.  For more information, visit 

1 comment:

Amanda Cabot said...

Chelle --
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my book. Needless to say, I'm delighted that you enjoyed it.