Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Monday, January 14, 2013

Choices of the Heart Book Review

The Midwives
Book Three

SUMMARY:  She thought she had left her old life behind. . .
     Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling.  When a terrible scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther flees, taking a position as a teacher in the wild western mountains of Virginia.  But instead of the refuge she was seeking, Esther finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud - and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict.  All she wants is to run away again.
     Yet could it be that her past holds the key to reconciliation - and love?
     In this gripping story of trust, deception, and bittersweet loss, you'll discover the true meaning of choices of the heart.

REVIEW:  This is the third book in The Midwives series.  You really do not need to read the other two books to understand everything going on in this story.  But if you would like background information on Esther's parents and their best friends, they will fill in the gaps.
      This is a good book.   My heart went out to this young woman who, after the unthinkable happens, feels the only option left to protect her family from gossip and harm is to leave everything she knows and loves behind.  I like how Griff, a young man, looks after his family and the other families on the mountain and tries to keep peace.  The torment Esther had gone through gives her a better understanding of the reason behind the feuding and, hopefully, helps bring the fighting to an end.
     This is a good book.  I can already see a few possibilities for plot lines if there was to be a fourth one in this series.  Check it out for yourself.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.
 Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of Lady in the Mist, Heart's Safe Passage, A Necessary Deception, A Flight of Fancy, and several other novels.  She won a National Readers Choice Award for Best Regency in 2007 for Family GuardianLaurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband and sundry dogs and cats.  For more information, visit her website at

No comments: