Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Sunday, October 28, 2012

A Flight of Fancy Book Review

The Daughters of Bainbridge House
Book #2

SUMMARY:  Her head is in the clouds.  His feet are planted firmly on the ground.  Can love cover the distance?.
     Cassandra Bainbridge may be a bit of a bluestocking, but when Geoffrey Giles is near, love seems a fine alternative to passion for Greek and the physics of flight.  With his dashing good looks and undying devotion to her, the earl of Whittaker sets Cassandra's heart racing with his very presence.  It seems his only flaw is his distaste for ballooning, the obsession that consumes so much of her thoughts.
     When a terrible accident compels her to end her betrothal, Cassandra heads for the country to recover from both her injuries and her broke heart.  With time on her hands and good friends to help her, she pursues her love for ballooning and envisions a future for herself as a daring aeronaut.  But when Lord Whittaker slips back into her life, will have to choose between him and her dream?

REVIEW:  This is the second book in the Daughters of Bainbridge House series.  You do not need to read the first book to understand this storyline, unless you want some background information of Cassandra and Geoffrey and the family.  
     My heart went out to Cassandra after her terrible accident, having to suffer the way she did and not being able to tell her fiance' the extent of the problem.  Geoffrey won my admiration by not giving up on Cassandra after she broke off their engagement but supporting her in every way, even going up with her in her beloved balloon to protect her when her life is threatened.  I also liked how Geoffrey tried to understand the frustrations of the loom mill workers and trying to come up with a solution the workers and owners could all agree on.  This book is superb.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of the Midwives series, A Necessary Deception, and several other novels.  She won a National Readers Choice Award for Best Regency in 2007 for Family Guardian.  Laurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband and sundry dogs and cats.

No comments: