Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

A Season of Change Book Review

 Seasons in Pinecraft Series
Book One

SUMMARY:  Can a past filled with loss lead to a new season of life?
     Stranded at a Sarasota hospital at the bedside of his ailing daughter, Amish widower Jacob Miller is wary of his unfamiliar surroundings - including the strange curiosity of Englischer Natalie Bennett.  Natalie, an aerial silks artist whose career in the circus ended before it began, has just uncovered a secret her mother kept hidden for years.  Her mom - or rather, mamm - was one Amish.
     A hundred questions suddenly surface.  Why did Natalie's mother keep this secret for so long?  Does Natalie still have Amish relatives?  How can she learn more about her heritage?  Can Jacob trust Natalie's piqued interest in his family and their simple ways, or will their clashing cultures thwart their hopes for finding the love of a family?

REVIEW:  This book is set in Pinecraft, Florida - a real community of Amish and Mennonite families - which gives the story a different feel from other Amish novels and makes this story interesting.  My interest was piqued when Natalie searches for her mother's family.  With her mother and her dad's parents deceased and her father remarried and living across the country with his new family, Natalie feels all alone in the world.  I like how the author dealt with differences in the Englisch and Amish cultures and how they mix in this little hamlet very well.  The situation of falling in love with someone whose life and lifestyle COMPLETELY different from yours is handled delicately with surprising results. It was interesting that even though Jacob and Natalie worshipped God in very different ways, their desire to live for and follow Him completely were very similar.
     If you are looking for a book that is a little different from the rest, check this one out.  I think you might like it.

This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity Group for review without compensation.

Lynette Sowell is the award-winning author of ten novels and eight novellas.  She makes her home on the doorstep of the Texas hill country with her husband.

No comments: