Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Thursday, October 11, 2012

When A Heart Stops Book Review

Deadly Reunions Series
Book 2

SUMMARY:  A killer's deadly game needs new players ... but someone's about to change the rules.
     As a medical examiner, Serena Hopkins is used to dealing with death.  But that doesn't make it any easier when she's called to the eerie scene of a murder - especially when Serena realized that she knows the victim.  Nearly as unnerving is the presence of FBI agent Dominic Allen, her childhood crush.
     As evidence mounts and points to a serial killer with disturbingly familiar methods, Serena and Dominic must work to find a pattern and stop the killings before the murderer strikes again.  And when Serena's own life seems at stake, she must decided if the secret she has been keeping has put her next on the killer's hit list.  Can she trust Dominic with the truth before it's too late?

REVIEW:  When A Heart Stops is the follow-up to When the Smoke Clears.  This is important because to fully understand every part of the book, you need to read the first book.  There are two stories running at the same time:  Serena's investigation into the murders of a possible serial killer and the underlying story of the search for Jillian and trying to find out whatever it was she saw graduation night.
     That said, the story is a good one.  The murders by the possible serial killer hit mimic ones that occurred many years ago but the person convicted is still behind bars.  Serena is a wonderful character.  When she is targeted by the killer, she is not afraid to ask for help from her friends and co-workers.  She also is very protective of her friend Jillian and her secret.  Serena keeps a package sent to her from Jillian hidden and doesn't even open it even though it may cost Serena her life.  The ending of the book has a lot of twists and turns and keeps you on your toes. 
    This is a great book.  I can't wait for the third book to come out.
This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.
 Available October 2012  at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Lynette Eason is the author of several romantic suspense novels, including the Women of Justice series and When the Smoke Clears.  She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America.  A wife and the mother of two, she has a master's degree in education and lives in South Carolina. 

No comments: