Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Through Waters Deep Book Review

Waves of Freedom Series
Book One

SUMMARY:  War is coming.  Can love carry them through the rough waters that lie ahead?
     It's 1941 and America teeters on the brink of war.  Handsome and outgoing naval officer Ensign Jim Avery escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic in a brand new destroyer, the USS Atwood.  On shore, Jim encounters Mary Stirling, a childhood friend who is now an astute and beautiful Boston Navy Yard secretary.
     When evidence of sabotage on the Atwood is discovered, Jim and Mary must work together to uncover the culprit.  A bewildering maze of suspects emerges, and Mary is dismayed to find that even someone close to her is under suspicion.  With the increasing pressure, Jim and Mary find that many new challenges - and dangers - await them. 

REVIEW:  Sarah Sundin's latest novel introduces her readers to a mindset most people nowadays have little knowledge of: the moods and opinions of the American people before the U.S. entered the Second World War.  Misunderstanding and wrong assumptions were prevalent against anything German, British or Jewish.  So, when problems start occurring in the ship building yard, fingers start pointing at the possible culprits.  I love how the author places her reader in the midst of the turmoil of the sailors and crewmen aboard the escort ships and among the workers on the docks and offices in the Navy Yard. 
    Mary's gumption to try and figure out who was sabotaging the ships was admirable.  Even though the FBI discouraged her from helping, her boss had faith that she would be an asset and encouraged her.  She found a way she could help the investigation, which in the end, was invaluable.  Also, I liked how Mary started stepping out and faced her fears of singing in front of a crowd.  This small action helped her step out of her comfort zone in others ways.  Jim's decision to defy orders to help men trapped in below deck on a sinking ship was exemplary.  His actions could have cost him his life but ended up saving the sailors' lives.  He was also Mary's cheerleader, encouraging her to face her fears and live life to the fullest.
     If this book is a sign as to the rest of this series, it will be one to watch for.  I really enjoyed this novel, as I have all of Susan Sundin's other publications, and look forward with great expectation for the other two books.

This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity Group and Revell 
for review without compensation.

Sarah Sundin is the award-winning author of the Wings of Glory and Wings of the Nightingale series.  During WWII, her grandfather served as a pharmacist's mate (medic) in the Navy and her great-uncle flew with the US Eighth Air Force in England.  Sarah lives in California with her husband and three children.  Learn more at

No comments: