Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Friday, May 22, 2015

In Firefly Valley Book Review

Texas Crossroads Series
Book Two

SUMMARY:  She's lost her dream job - but has she found the man of her dreams?
     Devastated by a downsizing, Marisa St. George has no choice but to return to the small Texas town where she grew up.  Though it means a giant step backward, she accepts a position as business manager at the struggling Rainbow's End resort.  The only silver lining:  Blake Kendall, a new guest who might make her believe in love at first sight.  But will Marisa's dreams of happily-ever-after be turned upside down when she discovers Blake's real identity?
     This warm and witty story of dreams deferred and mistaken identity will have you believing in second chances.

REVIEW:  This is a good story about secrets, forgiveness, and love.  Love can overcome secrets and help you forgive past wrongs but it can only come through God.  Marisa is a strong character that loves those around her and slowly learns how to forgive.  She is also one that most people should be able to relate to.  Everyone has family members who have problems that affect those around them, whether it is alcohol, drugs, anger issues, spending issues, hoarding, etc.  Quite often, you end up responding to instances around you with a skewed sense.  Marisa responds quite negatively to anything to do with alcohol.  While that could be constructed as a good thing, she doesn't like a particular author whose main character drinks.  Unfortunately, the author is someone Marisa cares about a great deal.  When asked to forgive someone who was very close to her for events that happened long ago, Marisa sees things through her childhood pain and struggles with forgiving.  As God's love grew in her, she was able to forgive those around her and love them better than before.
     This is a good book and a superb follow-up to the first one.  You probably should read the first book before this one. A few of the minor characters become more relevant and you understand where Rainbow's End Resort has come from and where it is going.  I'm patiently waiting for the third book to be released next year to see how it all comes together.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, the Westward Winds series, Christmas Roses, and At Bluebonnet Lake.  Her books have been finalists for the ACFW Carol Awards and the Booksellers' Best.  She lives in Wyoming.  Learn more at

No comments: