Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Monday, October 21, 2013

Perfectly Matched Book Review

The Blue Willow Brides Series
Book Three

SUMMARY:  His life runs like clockwork.  Hers is a spontaneous adventure.  But God's timing is always perfect.
     Anna Olsen knows it's time to leave her sister's increasingly crowded house and start a life of her own.  Following both of her sisters' examples, she becomes a mail-order bride, and after a short correspondence with clock maker and jeweler Edward Parker, she moves to Denver to become  his wife.
     Almost immediately it's painfully apparent that Anna and Edward are very different.  Anna is a free spirit who would rather be painting and enjoying the company of friends than cleaning house.  Edward is a consummate perfectionist who, on their wedding day, hands Anna a list of chores that need to be down around the house daily.
     Can this mismatched couple see past their difference to a harmonious future?  Or will their disparate passions create obstacles neither is willing to surmount?

REVIEW:  Opposites attract in this book.  Edward loves for everything to be in its place and to closely follow a set schedule.  Anna loves to be free and loves all kinds of animals.  Both have to make concessions but are determined to make their marriage work.  When Anna hears about Edward's difficult life as a child of an alcoholic, she tries even harder to keep things right about their relationship.  The changes Edward goes through in this book is neat.  Even though he is not fond of animals, especially in his house, he understand Anna longing to help hurt and injured pets.  He helps her start an animal shelter and becomes her biggest supporter.  When Edward is wrongly accused of stealing, even though she has doubts, Anna doesn't let them get in her way and supports him in proving his innocence.
     This is a good book and a wonderful ending to this series.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.
Maggie Brendan is the author of the Heart of the West and the Blue Willow Brides series.  Twice nominated for a RITA Award, she is a member of the Authors Guild, Romance Writers of America, Georgia Romance Writers, and American Christian Fiction Writers.  She lives in Georgia.  Visit her at

No comments: