Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Saturday, April 9, 2011

When the Soul Mends Book Review

SUMMARY:  Returning to the home she fled in disgrace, will Hannah find healing for wounds of the past?  After receiving a desperate and confusing call from her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community of her Pennsylvania childhood.
     Having left Owl's Perch more than two years earlier, she finally has settled into a satisfying role on the Englischer world.  Hannah has found love and a new family with the wealthy Martin Palmer and the children she is helping his raise; and her life-long dream of being part of the medical community is being realized.  But almost immediately after her arrival, the disapproval of those who ostracized her, including her headstrong father, reopens old wounds.
     As Hannah is thrown together with former fiance' Paul Waddell to work for her sister Sarah's mental health, hidden truths surface about events during Hannah's absence, and she faces an agonizing decision.  Will she choose the Englischer world and the man who restored her hope, or will she heed the call to return to the Plain life - and perhaps to her first love?

REVIEW:  My heart goes out to Hannah.  The struggles she faces when she returns home are difficult but she faces them with more character and grace than most twenty-year olds.  The story is good and I like how the book wraps up all the loose ends.  When the Soul Mends is book Three in the Sisters of the Quilt saga.  Not having read either of the first two books, sometimes I felt a little lost with some of the characters and the situations they were in.  This book is good and can stand on it's own but I think reading the other two books first would help fill in some of the blanks. I would recommend this book.

This book was provided by Waterbook Multnomah for review without compensation.

Cindy Woodsmall  is the author of When the Heart Cries and When the Morning Comes, the first two novels in the best-selling Sisters of the Quilt series.  Her ability to authentically capture the heart of her characters comes from her real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families.  A mother of three sons and one daughter-in-law, Cindy lives in Georgia with her husband.

No comments: