Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Thursday, August 3, 2017

The Legacy Book Review

Secrets of the Shetlands series
Book Three

SUMMARY:  The dramatic conclusion to the Secrets of the Shetlands.
     Loni Ford's unexpected inheritance of substantial real estate - not to mention a title - in the Shetland Islands has caused more than a stir in the quiet fishing hamlet of Whales Reef.  How can life ever be the same with an outsider - and a woman at that - playing such a pivotal role in the life of this traditional community?  But it isn't just the locals who have deep misgivings about the current situation.  Loni herself never imagined this in her wildest dreams and wonders whether she's cut out for it.
     Loni would hardly let herself acknowledge that she's falling in love - with Whales Reef, with its hardy people, and with local chieftain David Tulloch, whose inheritance she has usurped, at least in the eyes of some.  Or has she merely been seduced by the simple, peaceful way of life that exists here?
     Yet life in Whales Reef is rarely without drama.  Deeps rifts exist between certain lifelong neighbors, and when a dead body is discovered, suspicion is cast in the direction of the Tulloch family.  How Loni and David face up to this challenge will profoundly shape their relationship, as well as the future of the island.

REVIEW:  This book was a satisfying conclusion to this Secrets of the Shetlands series.  I like how everything was wrapped up neatly, with quite a few surprises, by the end.  The author goes into great detail within Emily and Brogan's story, tying it together with Loni, David and their friends stories.  How he kept everything straight is amazing.  Now, I don't know if I would call it a dramatic conclusion to the series but this novel answered questions about Loni's family's past and solves a mystery.  Probably my favorite part is the change in Hardy.  I also like how each person's faith is subtly woven throughout their lives and actions.  Their faith is not flimsy but strong, vibrant, and growing.  You can see Christ and His teachings through the behaviors of the characters. 
     When you read this series, you need to read the books one after another.  Each book picks up where the one before left off and they refer to incidences and characters mentioned throughout the stories quite frequently.  A "Cast of Characters" was really needed since some characters are only mentioned a few times but become an important part the memories and saga.  

This book was provided by Bethany House for review without compensation.

Michael Phillips is a bestselling author who has penned more than seventy books, both fiction and nonfiction.  Michael and his wife, Judy, spend time each year in Scotland but make their home near Sacramento, California.  Visit Michael's website at

No comments: