Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Thursday, October 27, 2016

The Devoted Book Review

The Bishop's Family Series
Book Three

SUMMARY:  The Amish life is all she's ever known - but will it satisfy her soul?
     Restless and adventurous, Ruthie Stoltzfus is right on the cusp of leaving her Amish home.  Secretly, she's earned her GED, saved her money - but she can't quite set her journey into motion.  Just as everything falls into place, along comes Patrick Kelly.
     Patrick is a young man on a journey of his own.  He's come to Stoney Ridge to convert to the Amish and has given himself thirty days to learn the language, drive a buggy, and adapt to "everything Plain."  Time is of the essence and every moment is to be cherished - especially the hours he spends with Ruthie, his Penn Dutch tutor. 
     Ruthie's next-door neighbor and cunning ex-boyfriend, Luke Schrock, is drawn to trouble like a moth to a flame.  Rebellious, headstrong, defiant, Luke will do anything to win Ruthie back - and Patrick Kelly is in his way.
     Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites you back to Stoney Ridge for a story of dreams deferred - and the promise of hopes fulfilled.

REVIEW:  Everyone has struggles.  Some are know to others, but there are many we keep locked inside, afraid to let them be known for fear of repercussions.  Ruthie longs to further her education but is limited within the Amish community.  Patrick is sick but wants to live life to the fullest.  Luke is fighting demons from his past and doesn't know how to beat them, or if he wants to.  Each one is determined to do what they think is necessary to accomplish their dreams and desires, sometimes to the detriment of others.
     This is a good read.  While reading, there were many times I was aggravated at Luke's irresponsible actions and encouraged by Ruthie's stance on issues. I like how Dok (Ruthie's Aunt Ruth), Birdie, and David's stories are interwoven throughout, continuing from previous books.  As in my previous reviews, David and Birdie are two of my favorites.  The strength and wisdom David shows in response to David and Goliath problems within the community are encouraging for someone who may be facing the same situation.  Birdie's faith and outlook on life is a breath of fresh air.
     To completely understand the relationship of Ruthie and Luke, plus the problems David encounters within his little Amish community, you must read the other two books in this series.  For a complete understanding of the relationships of this community and how they intersect, you can read the author's Stoney Ridge series, or most of her previous novels.  They each overlap and crisscross the others, almost like a real small town.
     I look forward to other books by Suzanne Woods Fisher and the continuation of the lives of these characters.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, including The Imposter, The Quieting, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish.  She lives in California.  Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher and Facebook at

No comments: