Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Sunday, February 22, 2015

The Trouble with Patience Book Review

Virtues and Vices of the Old West
Book One

SUMMARY:  Patience Cavanaugh has lost hope in romance.  The man she yearned to marry is dead and her dreams are gone with him.  Now she is consumed with restoring a dilapidated boardinghouse in order to support herself.
     Despite Patience's desire for solitude, Jedediah Jones, the local marshal with a reputation for handing criminals, becomes an ever-looming part of her life.  It seems like such a simple arrangement:  She needs someone with a strong back to help her fix up the boardinghouse.  He needs a dependable source of food for himself and his prisoners.  But as she gets to know this "hanging lawman," Patience finds there is far more to him than meets the eye - and it could destroy their tenuous relationship forever.  
     With a keen eye for historical detail and a deft hand at romantic tension, Maggie Brendan invites you to a Montana gold rush boomtown, where vices and virtues are on full display and love is lying in wait.

REVIEW:  The main character is not your typical heroine.  Patience is independent, but still willing to ask for help repairing her home.  She is larger than your average protagonist and often wishes she was thinner and had smaller feet.  She has a difficult relationship with her mother, Charity.  When Charity comes to visit her in Montana, Patience decides to do what she can to mend the relationship.
     The dramatic portions of the book felt a little flat to me.  The storyline seemed to drag in spots.  One of the good things about the book was it was harder for me to figure out who the protagonist was.  When I thought I had it figured out, I was pleasantly proven was wrong. The epilogue timeline caught me off-guard, too.  It was a farther out (time wise) than I was thinking because a lot of events occurred between the end of the book and the beginning of the epilogue.
      All in all, it's a good book.  I am interested to read the other books in this series to see who the future novels will be about and to see what their stories are.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Maggie Brendan is the bestselling author of the Heart of the West and The Blue Willow Brides series.  Winner of the 2014 Book Buyers Best Award (OCC/RWA) for inspirational fiction and the 2013 Laurel Wreath Award, she was a finalist for the 2013 Published Maggie Award of  Excellence and the 2013 Hearts of Excellence Readers' Choice Award.  To learn more, visit

No comments: