Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Monday, January 27, 2014

The Calling Book Review

The Inn at Eagle Hill Series
Book Two

SUMMARY:  Bethany's restless heart is searching for answers - in life and in love.
     Bethany Schrock's love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending hot summer days wading through a lifetime of accumulation at the home of five elderly Amish sisters.  She's not sure what she wants out of life, but she knows that she's not finding in Stoney Ridge.
     Then a new guest at the Inn at Eagle Hill ropes her into volunteering in a community project for down-and-outers.  Reluctant at first, Bethany starts to feel a bit of joy and satisfaction again.  But not so much that Jimmy Fisher, adorable and impossible, can woo her affections with his winks and tricks.  Well, maybe a little.
     When a figure from her past reenters her life, Bethany must decide:  What does the past mean to her future?
     Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher delivers her trademark twists, turns, and tender romance in this delightful and exciting visit to the quiet community of Stoney Ridge.

REVIEW:  Having read and loved Suzanne's Stoney Ridge Seasons series, I wanted to see what this book was about.  There were a lot of things I liked but quite a few I had trouble with.  First, the good.  I love the five elderly sisters who were between the ages of 80 and 90.  They could not take care of their house but they loved to help take care of those who were in need by providing food and other things for anyone who needed it, whether they were Amish or not.  The youth minister, Geena, who stayed at the bed and breakfast run by Bethany's step-mom, had a huge heart for kids, especially troubled teens.  I like how she jumped right in helping the Sisters make meals and got involved in the community garden and eventually a home for wayward teens.  I love how the Quilting Circle helped out a former member, even though it has been about twenty years since she had participated.  They looked out for her and raised money for her quietly to help meet her needs.
     Now, some of the difficulties I had.  It seemed like there were too many stories going on at one time:  Bethany helping the Sisters; Mim secretly writing for the local newspaper; Jimmy's decisions on what to do about his desire to raise horses or run the family hatchery business; the goings-on in the past with Bethany's dad, brother and Jake that affect the present; Geena's job loss and trying to figure out where God wants her next; and the events surrounding Bethany finding her mother, who had disappeared about twenty years earlier.  Also, quite a few of the characters in her previous series, Stoney Ridge, showed up in this book.  Trying to remember what happened in the previous books and how their stories affected the characters in this book hurt my head sometimes.  It would be nice to have had a Cast of Characters to help place each person from the other series, especially since it has been a few years since I read the books.
     I love Suzanne Woods Fisher's books and will continue to read any future ones she writes.  This one, unfortunately, was not one of my favorites, though I might read it again later to see if I get a different feel for it.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace.  She is also the coauthor of an Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp.  Suzanne is a Christy Award finalist, a Carol Award winner, and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines.  She lives in California.  For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

No comments: