Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Friday, June 21, 2013

Slow Moon Rising Book Review

A Cedar Key Novel

     The beautiful Claybourne home on Cedar Key has long been a place of rest, healing, and release.  Each member of the family has turned there in times of confusion, loss, and hurt, only to feel their spirits renewed and their hearts restored.
     But Cedar Key might also be the birthplace of a lie that is poisoning the family from within.
     Join the five Claybourne women - Anise, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami - as they search the past and confront the truth.  Their unique paths will lead them through heartbreak, misunderstandings, and pain.  But their journeys will also bring reconciliation with each other and the precious renewal of love in their own lives.
     In her lyrical, evocative fashion, Eva Marie Everson weaves a tapestry of complicated relationships that, when complete, reveals the most beautiful work of art there is - family.

REVIEW:  This book is about keeping secrets and the harm that can come to a family and relationships if they are not revealed.  Each one of Ross' daughters has a secret and refuses to tell the other - their mother's "sickness" from being an alcoholic, a cancer scare that leaves one unable to have children, the one who tries to make everything perfect which ruins her marriage and one who finds out about a mistake in her father's past.  Once all of their secrets are revealed, the ones listed and others that occur, healing can take place, hopefully before it is too late.  
     One of my favorite characters is Anise.  I like how she approaches the girls and her new life as Ross' new wife and the girls' step-mom.  She does not come in and try to take over, making changes everywhere.  She also doesn't try to change the attitudes of her stepdaughters but loves them whether or not they accept her.  Instead, Anise makes small changes and is accepting of the girls and does what she can to help them.  She keeps secrets when asks and doesn't hold the information as leverage.  
     This is a good book, great for summer reading or if you are looking for something light to read.

This book was provided by Revell for review without compensation.

Eva Marie Everson is a successful speaker and the award-winning author of Things Left Unspoken, This Fine Life, Chasing Sunsets and Waiting for Summer.  She is coauthor of the Potluck Club books and the Potluck Catering Club series.  She lives in Florida.  Find out more at

No comments: